About Friends of Reverchon Park

In 1915, the Dallas Park Board purchased 36 acres from the estate of John D. Cole to establish a park to serve the northwest quadrant of town. Supporters envisioned the park as the Central Park of Dallas. First named Turtle Creek Park, it was renamed after Julien Reverchon. A well-known botanist and a member of La Reunion Utopian Community, Reverchon had collected more than 2,600 species and 20,000 specimens of Texas plants prior to his death in 1905.

Since its beginnings, many modifications have been made to the park. In 1924, the grandstand was erected, and the ballpark gained the reputation as the best baseball field in the city. The same year, fountains were installed to provide well water to local residents. During the 1920s and 1930s, improvements such as the iris garden, landscaping, picnic areas, baseball diamonds, playground equipment and tennis courts transformed the park into a site of many celebrations, including Fourth of July and Juneteenth.

In 1951, Reverchon Park expanded to 46 acres. In 1975, the Reverchon Recreation Center opened, offering a variety of indoor recreational activities. In 2002, the American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons, Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children and the City of Dallas built a state-of-the-art playground accessible to children of all levels of ability.

In the 1930s, the Works Progress Administration built an iris garden, working well, stone pathways, steps and vistas.

Home > About Us > History > About The Park > Ways To Help

Fast Facts.
In the early 1920s, people from across Texas traveled to Reverchon Park
to experience the mythical healing powers of water from the Gill Well.